Unit 5: Photoshop Manipulation & Experimentation

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.27.07

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 10.45.30Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 11.29.43Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 11.29.43Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 11.37.32For my first design I went to file.open and selected a picture of helena which showed a full portrait image of Helena I started off by zooming in and focusing on her face I zoomed in and painted the face, I then used the magic wand tool to fill in her hair, With the remaining parts which wasn’t filled in on the hair I used the paint brush tool to fill any parts which wasn’t already filled in with a different colour. I then used the filter gallery to add effects to the brush tool to make the paint look more vivid. I also then used the magic wand tool to make the clothing black and the paintbrush tool to add lines of paint brush strokes into it I also then copied the body and duplicated it I then used the filter gallery and added mosaic pattern I duplicated the layer so that it didn’t effect and more of the image apart from the clothes. I also then added a watercolour background, to go with this I added a white layer using the fill paint bucket tool. Once I did this I cropped the image and then saved my image onto Adobe Photoshop and also as a JPEG so that this was now a complete image but I could also edit if i needed to.

Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.25.49Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.05.02Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.06.24Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.36.01For my second concept I took a landscape image of Helena and added a background which I found on pinterest. I then used the magic wand tool and edited the image of helena so there was no background once i did this i could select Helena I used the filter gallery to experiment I found one which I liked which outlined her and created a realistic but cartoon effect I then flattened the image and saved it. Once I did this i cropped the image, I then also added to it using the text tool and added ‘VOGUE’ in I placed this on the leg as it was different and when putting it onto the background it didn’t work too well as the background had too much detail and overshadowed the text, However this was a creative away to add text into an image and helped me understand how placement is important within a picture as it can be more effective in some areas rather that others because of colour and size. I also wasn’t going to use this for my final image even though I liked it as it was a landscape image and I wanted my final to be portrait.Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.44.54 Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 12.44.44I used file>open and used the image which I took of Helena in the studio I used the magic wand tool to get rid of the background and added a new background which I found on pinterest. I was going to complete the image as I wasn’t going to use it for final but I decided to experiment with it more so i duplicated the layer of Helena three times and moved two layers so that they was next the main middle image I didn’t change sizing I kept it the same to see the effect when i did this I moved the original image of Helena to the top of the layers panel so she was the main point of focus I then flattened the image and saved it as a JPEG. I’m not going to use this for my final image as it looks to simple and I don’t think this is something what you would see as a magazine cover I also am going for a more professional outcome but this looks simple and unprofessional.

Leave a Reply

