Dragon Experimentation!

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 20.13.03

I drew a sketch of a dragon and then took a photo and opened it into photoshop I took the layer and changed it to multiply. Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 20.54.52

I then added a new layer and used the paint brush tool to go round my drawing in black, I did this in a new layer so my original piece stayed the same I could also get rid of any errors and pencil marks if I used a separate layer. Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 21.02.24I then used a new layer and used the paint bucket tool to fill in my drawing this was quick and easy and give me a simple outcome. Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 21.20.04

I also duplicated my outline layer and added black inside the image and made a red outline, this was the outcome for the fire I used a gradient I don’t think this looks effective at all as it doesn’t look like fire but I added I didn’t edit any further as I didn’t like the image Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 21.24.37

I used the paint bucket tool again and used different shades of purple I did this by filling the dragon with complete purple and then using the colour picket to darken the purple slightly. Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 22.10.34 I then found a video on youtube which helped me learn how to shade I started off by creating a new layer and using this to fill in the inside of the dragon I started off with the tail I filled this completely with light green and then made it darker.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 22.50.08 This is my image completely filled in and shaded.Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 23.31.40I then got rid of any unwanted areas on the outside and went around my shading to get it as perfect as I could. As I had also did this image in the same document as my other experiments i used the marquee tool to select all of the image and copy it into a new document. I then saved this as its own file in Photoshop.

green shading done

This is my image opened as a JPEG with no background. green shading with backgrounddoneTo experiment further I added a dark blue background and used the colour picker tool to use a blue which was slightly brighter I then used the star brush and added stars, I also made the brush to size 300 and added a moon I like this brush as on the outside it gave a glowing effect.

Considering this was my first time using photoshop to completely do an image and learning how to shade i think my outcome is professional I am going to show this piece of work in my sketchbook. This has helped me understand Adobe Photoshop further and develop my skills in using the software 

Leave a Reply

