Motion Drawing | Wolf

Today I decided to look at how to draw mythical creatures. I found a video showing how to draw an in motion drawing of a wolf running I drew this in my sketchbook.

 11156846_10202611635051344_224651876_n11118907_10202611433166297_921148152_n

This is my first attempt at drawing a wold in motion. I liked doing this as it has shown me how media is traditionally used and can then be taken digitally to enhance and make the motion drawing an animation.

I then went to pixar’s website and found a website which I found interesting on how the characters are created in the films.http://www.pixar.com/behind_the_scenes/Character-Design#/node/3833

This was helpful to watch as I could see how many concepts are done in order to get a final character design to then be animated digitally, I think this  fits in with my project as I can see how media processes are used to convey ideas. This helped me understand how the drawings can be done (Writing a character description and drawing hundreds of drawings which the director then took and picked around 10 to be developed further to then finally end with one design.)

To see how the message was going to be conveyed I watched another video about colour scripts. Here the artist explained how he creates a mood board of the full movie with little detail but this helps show the colours which are going to be used helping expand ideas on how the character will be seen. Although the video doesn’t show the character getting any colour or detail added to it, The video lets me see how the characters are most likely to be done also; For example colours for a certain character may be picked on their personality and what scenes there in to fit the final outcome.

Leave a Reply

