15th May | FMP

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 09.01.44 Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 09.20.51Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.00.38 Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.00.41 On Friday I checked over my work this was because I didn’t want any errors when uploading my book to blurb or for my book to come back when its finished and have any errors. To check this I spent most of my day going through every picture I had and changing the resolution to be at at least 250dpi, I then also zoomed in closely to my blurb book and checked that my backgrounds where to the final bleed line I also made sure the line stroke wasn’t on because this would have meant that my book could have came back with a slight thin white line, which would have been one of the most annoying things to get back into my book.Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.00.57 Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.01.04 Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.01.06 Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.08.17  This was my book once I had changed some of the layout and corrected my pages so that the baseline was on and hyphenate was on this meant that my text was sitting on a template of lines so my text sat right and was evenly spaced throughout the whole of the book. I made sure all of my font sizes was set at 12pt and set my leading to 14.4pt so all of my text was evenly spaced.

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.15.24 Once I did this I began to start my right Coco Chanel page this was a quote to include typography into my work as I have already did a brief on type and because this was something I know about I could do it well. I first off was going to do this in Adobe InDesign as I wanted it quite simple but in the end either way Adobe Illustrator is the tool that I should always use for type I copied my work and then went into Adobe Illustrator,Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.24.31 Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.24.42 Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.25.10 Once I was in Adobe Illustrator I placed my background behind and added my text in I came out with this outcome as I had seen something on Pinterest which was similar but I didn’t. I’m not sure why I didn’t like it I just think it didn’t make any sense for the red box to be underneath ‘Be yourself.’ I think if it was going to be that simple it should have related to Coco Chanel because it was her quote or as it was my piece of work that I was producing have something that I liked.Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.59.11In the end I did the background from colour picking my work on the left page and then used the lasso tool to create a more unique background but kept it quite simple, I did this because I wanted my left page to stand out but I also wanted people to read the quote and in my opinion I think the smallest drawing or pattern on the right page would have overshadowed everything on the two pages and even though the drawing or pattern would have been mine it wouldn’t have been the outcome I wanted as I’d worked harder especially on the left page and the type to make sure everything was set perfectly so that it had an effective outcome. While being in Adobe Illustrator I changed the font colour so some was white and some was black, This would have been readable in all white but I thought it would have been a good idea to use all the colours from the left page to be included in the right, This worked well when I did it and makes my typography look less simple.Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 11.58.04

Leave a Reply

