18th May | FMP

I began to re-do my Emilio Pucci page I started this by going into Adobe Illustrator and taking a template from google images of a button up shirt I then took the pen tool and made an outline of the shirt I then copied the image and pasted it into an art board I then locked the original outline so that this couldn’t be edited or changed, I locked this image because if the image I had pasted went wrong I could always go back and unlock it to paste and use again.

Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.41.13 I did use the original image of a baby wipe to see what it looked like in the shirt outline but it didn’t work and needed editing.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.42.50 I started off by opening Adobe Photoshop and doing Image > Auto tone and Image > Auto colourScreen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.44.04 This then gave me this outcome, I knew I didn’t want to change the colour because I loved the colour and thought it would look effective on a shirt with a background similar to this image that I found on Pinterest. Although I liked the colour I still used Hue/Saturation just to see what the outcome would be.Screen Shot 2015-05-26 at 14.58.54This was one of the outcomes I got even though I love the colour and it could be used for a design, comparing it to the original baby wipe editing it too much I think would make it look fake and although I want the outcome to look mostly digital the design that I am using should be realistic.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.45.33 Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.47.05 I set the vibrance to +100 and saturation to +4. I then changed the contrast to +58

Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.50.57 This then gave me this outcome which I saved as a JPEG and in Adobe Photoshop ready to be added into Adobe Illustrator.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.52.28 This was my image in Adobe Illustrator I image traced this so it was a high fidelity photo I did this because I wanted the image to stay the same or only the slightest detail which didn’t show much difference, which didn’t effect the final outcome.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.52.49 Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.54.41 This was then my image shown image traced. I expanded this.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 09.55.14 Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 10.00.59 I then realised that because this was going to be published in a book there should be slightly more detail in the shirt I used the template again and used the pen tool to do a new outline, I then grouped this and pasted it and locked the new original image I then took the new shirt and added it one he first clipboard Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 10.20.37On the second page I clicked my Patterns and did Object > Pattern > Make. Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 10.24.44 This then gave me the screenshot above and the box on the left side, This was like options it let me choose different effects I could use to create different outcomes for the pattern I made, Once I was happy with this I saved it and it went into my swatches panel.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 11.30.50 I then clicked and dragged across my page so that my shirt was highlighted, Adobe Illustrator was a nightmare and kept crashing on me this meant that by 12 I wanted to have had this done and one of my Dior pages but this problem led to me not being able to complete my Adobe Illustrator pageScreen Shot 2015-05-18 at 12.21.22 I then stopped editing this page as it was taking to much of my time I took one of my illustrations digital and went back into Adobe Photoshop I began by creating a new layer and calling this outline, Once this was done I added any area which was black into the outline layer.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 12.23.59

This then gave me this outcome and I decided to add colour, My original idea was to add a yellow textured colour dress but this was mixing in with the skin colour too much I didn’t want it to be plain as my right Christian Dior page was simple so the left page had to stand out more. I also added a layer which I added the skin colour into I used the colour picker and from an existing image copied the colour I then used the magic wand tool to fill the colour in as you couldn’t see much detail it was the only colour I used for the skin.Screen Shot 2015-05-26 at 16.05.17I finally decided that light pink was a good colour to use as it was feminine and I could picture this being photographed as a popular dress to wear in the 1950’s, I loved the outcome as it was such an easy piece to complete I then flattened the image so all my layers came into one and used the free transform tool to make sure that I was happy with the image placement to save having to change this in Adobe InDesign, I also double checked the the DPI was set to 300 as this is a good printing quality to use for printing.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 12.59.53 This is my Christian Dior page placed into Adobe InDesign with no editing needed.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 14.03.29 From checking the DPI this made me check all of my images again as this was going to be one of the mot important things when printing my book some of them where awful and only around 30 resolution this wasn’t even good for showing my final piece through digital methods. I did change some of these and it turned out successful but some that I changed the quality was awful and I couldn’t have used the image unless I wasn’t too worked on quality because I wanted my book to be as perfect as I could get I changed images and even some of the page layouts that I had done because it wasn’t working. As I changed this it made me more confident that my work was going to be better quality and I didn’t have to worry about these pages until the very end double checking my work before uploading my book.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 14.19.32 I did some traditional experiments but this only took me half an hour at half three I re-opened Adobe Illustrator this then let me get my pattern design onto the shirt design without any problems it just took a long time to upload but in the end it did this correctly without me having to change anything.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 14.46.08 I decided that having the complete shirt design filled in was a bad option as the top didn’t look like it had a different colour inside I tried to change this and wasn’t particularly happy However because of Adobe Illustrator being slow I didn’t mess around and try to get it exactly perfect I added the baby wipe pattern in again as a JPEG from my FMP folder. By the end of the day this was the work that I had produced, I was content with this but knew that it needed minor changes, I saved my file so that it was ready to be added into Adobe InDesign on Tuesday.

I knew that this wasn’t the amount of work I wanted to get done and because of this I went home and planned what I was doing for my Diane page as I hadn’t started that and I was starting to get worried for how I was going to complete this on time.Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 14.56.16

Leave a Reply

