Photo shoot test 1 | editing

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 11.13.09 Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 11.17.04 Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 11.17.22

This is a contact sheet I created as theres no way to show all of the images we took using my blog, I did this using photoshop, File > Automate > Contact sheet, made me get these pages. This is all the photos we took for our first dummy photo shoot.

Explanation

We as a team decided the first thing we needed to do was get into the studio to take some images the studio was luckily free so we were able to go in, it didn’t take long to get the shots that we wanted. Becky spent about 15-20 minutes capturing images while me and Bart decided on how they should be placed and also Bart was a hand model.

Our reasons for adding the shoe into the photo shoot was because we had the idea of “Top of the food chain.”  This idea came from me and Bart when we tried to begin melting the cutlery together to make the Michael Jordan logo, However as explained in my blog posts that idea was a complete fail; When sitting down and re-thinking of ideas again it took longer than we wanted and got a little frustrating, We just completely stopped thinking about the Michael Jordan idea as our minds where to set on the idea, We took everything away and just decided to think of a more simple 2D vision, As Becky was in a photography session it was up to me and bart to come up with a new idea and see if Becky agreed with us, We sat and debated ideas then I came up with the idea of a ladder with the cutlery and then a shoe on top, Bart then added the amazing slogan “Top of the food chain.”  We then got Becky who approved of the idea. The next day we were able to use the studio to produce some effective images.

Screenshots explained
Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 09.46.17To start off I downloaded the images which we had taken into the studio we all decided to just edit and then we could share what we liked and disliked about the images.  I began by duplicating my layer I then added Auto tone I did add Auto colour but I thought this made the image to white and took the shadow away.
Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 09.52.17 This was then the outcome I had the shadows but the lighting made the image look slightly yellow, which I didn’t like as a group we wanted to keep our images simple, crisp and clean.Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 09.53.34I used brightness/contrast and set it to 10 I tried different levels but I figured this one kept the images shadows but got rid of the yellow colour more.

Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 09.55.08 I used shadows and highlights to see what difference this made to the image I tried it at 35 but that effected the shoe, even at 10 it was too high I set it at 1 in the end as this didn’t effect the shoe and brought the shadows out in the slightest way possible.Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 09.56.46 I started to change the curves this worked quite well as it gave me the outcome which I wanted the image was whiter, the shadows had been kept and looked quite natural also the show hadn’t changed.
Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 09.58.22 I then changed the levels as the top right corner to me was to bright and needed bringing down again to look more natural from these steps, I think were quite simple I decided to just now focus on the show Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 10.03.39 Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 10.03.58 I zoomed in on the show to have a closer look to remove any slight problems I used the spot heeling brush tool to correct any problems I did this by clicking part of the shoe which didn’t have any problems and was around the area which needed correcting, This was quite easy to do but time consuming to make the shoe look perfect, I have put two screenshots above the first is one part of the shoe that I corrected as it had a hair on it, The next screenshot shows the bottom of the shoe which was going to have to be edited to look perfect so the shoe didn’t look used. Using the spot heeling tool I just corrected these areas so the shoe looked new. Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 10.12.17 Screen Shot 2015-09-15 at 10.13.47I then used Hue/Saturation and set it to -5 this enhanced the shoe especially the pink parts, It enhanced the shoe again to look as if it was a new shoe being promoted.

I like this image, However, if we are going to recreate this image the composition needs to be worked on as the cutlery looks as if its knitting needles, it may not be the composition of the camera but how the hands are placed, Another idea could be the cutlery is just going in for the shoe so you can see the cutlery fully, but I don’t know if this would work, Its always an idea we could use if the composition doesn’t go the way we want it to.

2 thoughts on “Photo shoot test 1 | editing”

Leave a Reply

