Research | Photography

To begin my research into unit 33 and 45 I have took it upon myself to complete research before going to take images, I know In my mind I want to do something which isn’t obvious but its Iconic to Liverpool. I have found a site called Formidable Photography which has images of Liverpool on it, these stand out to me as their unique from an images which we know is Liverpool such as the small things will help Liverpool be what it is. I couldn’t add the images into the blog post as theres no option on the site so instead I have screens hotted some of my favourites.Screen Shot 2015-11-16 at 15.25.18I love this image as the composition and lighting is perfect the black and white adds a feeling of oldness, This is effective as the cavern is one of the most famous places to visit in Liverpool as the likes of The Beatles and Cilia Black. They have also made the sign not the full area of focus with words on the wall being focused as I’m straight drawn to ‘Headstone.’ To me this gives me an idea that I can photograph something and even though its the main focus people are going to look at because their not from here , There’s also more to the image than what is known around Liverpool. This gives me the idea that if I’m including any blank space around my image text could be included using Adobe Photoshop or ripping words out of magazines and adding them together to create a collage which can then almost be a background and still relate to Liverpool and people are getting more of an idea as to what Liverpool is about.
Screen Shot 2015-11-16 at 15.25.40 This is another image I quite liked. This is something I don’t think I would use for my outcome but it has gave mr an idea that if I want to include The Beatles in any of my shots which is most likely as their the most iconic people to come from Liverpool I can photograph their models or I could go to The Beatles museum and take photographs either using a camera or my phone as I would most likely try not to make them the main point of focus in my image.

I then found an image of strawberry fields I like this as its not perfect and Liverpool definitely isn’t, It includes everything which even though its not the best make Liverpool what it is, I would like to show maybe not the parts of Liverpool which are the best because they still stand out. I could use graffiti as some of my mixed media to making my image successful.

Screen Shot 2015-11-16 at 15.25.54

Now that I have researched into only one form of taking photographs in Liverpool, This is obviously only the first the next thing I would like to do is include images which are clean cut and show Liverpool in its best light.

Leave a Reply

