Digital Processes VS Film-based

5548054202_fd41cbea07_b

Digital photography is when an image looks pristine, clear this is because the image has a higher amount of pixels meaning the image has more pixels in it making the pixels smaller than in an original image so even when zoomed you can’t see much pixelation

Screen Shot 2015-11-17 at 16.59.12.png

To prove this further I have zoomed the image further to prove this point. The reason this works better is because 1 megapixel equals one million pixels per image.

Screen Shot 2015-11-17 at 17.03.36.png

From my research I have identified that megapixels don’t necessarily mean the more pixels the better as having to many megapixels can ruin your image if made smaller as a computer will automatically remove pixels if theres too many. I googled how many megapixels you need for a good image 6 seems appropriate to me, Even doing a billboard 6 megapixels is fine but it all depends on the distance your going to be seeing it from if its right in front of you its going to have some pixelation but most billboards you look at from afar so this won’t be an issue Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 16.25.17

Film – based

Film-based photography doesn’t have ‘megapixels’ However film scanners have a specific resolution. If you where taking a top quality shot at 35mm shot then the ‘megapixels’ are going to be around 20 million but there also may be as few as 4 million depending on the type of film you use, The first image is taken with a Holga film camera at 35mm as you can see the quality is pretty good it gives a ‘vintage’ effect look which now is what film camera’s do. I love both of these images however if I needed to zoom it in which I have done in the second picture you can see the pixels in the image because the quality is no where near as good as digital based.

tumblr_m5qkvodIV11qin583o1_500.jpg

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 21.08.37.png

 roses_sx70_sarabucher.jpg

I love this way of photography I think especially for night shots if where your photographing is a well known memorable place its a good way to experiment depending on the outcome you want.

I think now looking into film-based photography I would like to somehow be able to create an image similar to my first example I like how theres a misty effect from the lights off the buildings.

Comparing both of film-based and digital photography both are effective and have their uses, I think depending on the image you want for your outcome the type of lens you use varies such as if I was going to take a picture of buildings and wanted to use a lens to zoom in to get the perfect composition I would use a digital camera as this would give me a clear, crisp outcome which I could zoom in further when editing within Adobe Photoshop but if I wanted an image such as Matthew Street and I wasn’t going to do much editing to it I would use film-based photography as its a well known place and when I think of it it feels aged and a lot of things happened there in the past that have made Liverpool known. As for my outcomes I would like to be able to experiment with both types of photography and decide what would be best for my outcome. However the most suited lens to use would be digital as the outcome is a billboard this would mean when editing in Photoshop the picture is less likely to become pixilated especially if the picture is blown up to billboard size.

Leave a Reply

