Portfolio | Typography & Magazine Cover

Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 11.52.54

I have been working on my portfolio pages during some of our lunch’s to ensure that the pages are complete as I have been focusing more on getting UCAS completed lately. I decided the quickest way to make sure I wasn’t going to panic about having pages done was to have pages which wasn’t going to have text on them already done and uploaded to Behance so when coming back to focus on completing my portfolio I won’t have as much work as I think. My first year work was backed up because of this I placed what I said I was including in my portfolio back onto my desktop, The first page I knew I was going to have without a doubt was my Typography. This was going to take up two of my pages as I had a colour and black and white example of my type. When opening photoshop this just meant little changes such as making sure the canvas size was correct and the DPI was set at 72 for online publishing. I then uploaded both of the pages to Behance.

Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 11.56.54Once this was done I started to work on my Photography pages as it was only one page of work which had text on it.I used a background which I created last year and turned it black and white I then did image rotation to make the page portrait fitting my portfolio layout.Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 12.00.11Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 11.59.49
I decided at first to put all my work onto one page however this wasn’t looking likely as I had to include text and the
page looked quite full already. However, I decided to carry on and include my text as I can place images differently and move text around to see if it fits. I decided to use dark blue. I didn’t take colour into consideration massively as long as it was legible and I was able to change it later
Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 11.00.39
This page ended up not being completed in the day but when being off and looking over my work I have realised that because my work does include a lot of bright colours the worst thing to do is have a background thats going to outshine my work and not let it be the main focus. I decided this page was going to be white. I used grids in order to make a border around my page and used the ruler tool to help make sure i had the same spacing with each guide. I could then also use then use alt to select my layers and use the arrow key to move them together this was quicker and also kept precision with my alignment. I then changed where my text was and kept it black. I am now happy that this page is done and I’m not going to come back and edit it.Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 11.20.05
To then make sure my pages where completed I opened my final front cover in Adobe Photoshop checking the canvas size was set to A3 and the dpi was at 72 for online portfolio upload.  My two pages are now uploaded onto Behance and shared on my Pinterest to show the progression of my portfolio.

Leave a Reply

