MMU | Work

Screen Shot 2015-12-02 at 11.53.22Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 16.36.14.pngScreen Shot 2015-12-02 at 11.53.14

To help further my decisions on where I am applying to university I have looked into Manchester Met. The first screenshot shows Liz who is programme leader for the course. I have looked into what work she has done and have viewed information about her such as how she has worked collaboratively with an artist to produce a piece “Pairings,” Through the pairings project she has said: ” I didn’t know what was going to happen.” This informs me that the university will planned however not set for a certain outcome to push the boundaries as far as possible to get the best outcome. I also looked at Sue Platt who does fine art I have looked into her work and I love it each project is individual. From seeing her work I think she works with fine art and photography to produce a lot of her outcomes. This gives me the knowledge that even though I’ve only looked into two teachers there is a wide range of skills with each of them showing that if I went to this university each teacher would have different opinions and my work would become more diverse as it would deepen my knowledge further into Graphic Design. To support my opinion even further I have looked into work the third screenshot shows  a students work. This shows me the brand BOY and the logo which is a boycott as it’s using a nazi symbol. its really simple but effective as is a strong message.

I also looked at Justice Hyde-Mobbs work I noticed her work as its quite bright but when looking this typography poster stood out to me. It’s really clever and also within the background looking although its an orbit. Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 16.50.26.png

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 19.08.03.png

I looked at work which was also recent from 2015 I came across Jordan Hall. I liked his work as to me it implied creative thinking and sending a message. I have also followed him on Behance to keep up with his work as hes quite random but has a clean outcome to his work.

The last person who’s work I really liked was Emily Coxhead. She studies at MMU and has worked with the likes of Ed Sheeran and Example, From looking at her work I love her creativity she works with photography and graphic design as they work well together and without each other.

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 19.15.50Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 19.18.28Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 19.21.11.png

While looking at her work I noticed typography this is something I have never thought about but she has hand drawn the type and in each letter a different sweet wrapper. This is by far one of my favourite pieces that I have seen and this is why I look forward to being able to develop further with typography in higher education.I have followed Emily on Behance and Instagram to be able to keep up with her work in the future.

Leave a Reply

