Mythical Creatures

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 09.41.50

I decided that within my portfolio I needed to include traditional work event though most of my work is traditional and digitally developed I wanted a piece that had no editing to it which I drew. I decided that some of my best drawings where from my Mythical Creatures project. I picked the best drawing and scanned this, I have then opened it in Photoshop where I have taken the annotations away and made the black look as dark as it did on the original drawing

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 09.42.58

To do this I did image > Auto Tone this made the black deepen in colour.

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 09.48.39

The next image I wanted to edit was my final piece this was different from the first piece even though I have used black biro pen because I have used watercolour to add colour. This was a piece out of my comfort zone as I either do my work black and white or completely use colour. However I am happy with this outcome In the screenshot above I have cropped the image as my spiral band was on the page after cropping this.

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 09.50.22

I then used curves in order to bring my image back to the original colour I saved this as I didnt want to edit it any further as I want to keep my image as close to the original as possible.

In the end I never included this in my portfolio because I didn’t think it was good enough. However looking at this piece now I may include it again as I dont think I have a lot of traditional pieces to show and I want to make sure I show both sides to my work as Graphics isn’t fully about digital pieces.

Screen Shot 2016-01-05 at 10.06.07

This is a screenshot of my Traditional and digital pieces on my Behance. Here other people will see it and can take inspiration this is also to send off to universities if they ask for a digital portfolio.

Leave a Reply

