YEEZY | Developments

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 10.56.55

I have been working in a sketchbook in order to complete my Unit 37 and 42 project. I decided I wanted to draw the YEEZY sign out in different ways in order to then decide what I wanted to develop. In the end I went with a clean cut outcome as I think this is the best and most legible for packaging design and especially when advertised if you see yeezy you know who’s created it. I did this all in capitals as yeezy is the creator. Everyone knows about his shoes and if they see this advertised on a shop window their instinct is Kanye West.

To begin developing this I placed an image which I took of the final YEEZY sign which I created and added it into Illustrator. I then imaged traced this which gave me this result.This made it a lot easier to work with especially as there was no background behind it. From the image trace on the left hand side I have used the pen tool as not all the lettering was thick or perfectly straight using the pen tool I was able to hold shift which gave me a straight line and therefore a more precise outcome.

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 11.40.58

I decided the best thing to do to create the black outlined E was to just go off the E I had already created in order to get my outcome

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 11.42.41

This is my writing up to now from what I can see both of the E’s our perfect however the Y is looking thin and slightly uneven to me however I want to start on creating the Z as the best thing for me to do is to do this and come back to re-editing the Y where I can duplicate the outcome and then place the writing so its perfect and I will have my text completed.

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 17.27.32

I have started to further develop my Y on its own I took both of the Y’s and isolated them. I then chose which one was looking better than the other and kept the best one to make this equal I have used the guides tool which I placed at the top of the Y and just before the desecnder ends. This has now helped me make both of the Y’s end and start in the same place accurately.

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 17.28.33

Up to now this is the YEEZY type I am happy with this as its looking more professional. However I’m still going to work on making the Y thicker on the inside as the white space in-between the parting is quite big and could be made smaller.  This needs to be done especially as the descender is thicker than both the top parts and I want it to be equal to or slightly thicker so its bold.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As you can see I have made both Y’s thicker I have also developed further by placing the Y’s in different areas and extended the Y to see if it worked any better I along with this tried to do the writing below one another but I didn’t like this.

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 18.34.21

I am now around 90 percent happy with this design I do think it looks effective and I’m keeping my design simple I dont want to add colour to the box especially the text this is a development but may be a final unless I have an idea which could possibly change the Y’s so they work more effectively.

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 18.31.33

To further develop the type I decided to create a pattern in Illustrator I do like this as its something to think about if the shoes would be wrapped in anything this could be done by using tracing paper to protect the yeezys from any damage which further makes the product better and adds to the packaging. Along with advertising this could work on a bag however I think it would be too overpowering on the box especially with other information around it.

Leave a Reply

