KW | Developments

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 16.40.45

I took the KW I made into Illustrator using the pen tool  started to go over the original design which I made.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 16.43.40

This however wasn’t working the way I wanted it to because it didn’t look like a KW it jus looked like a stick figure. To highlight this further I wanted the K to stand out more than the W because of this I made the w slightly thinner and smaller however this just looked stupid.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 16.53.11

To develop further I started to change the colours of the W to see if having a different colour would work well however after multiple times of changing the colour the screenshot above shows how it wasn’t working successfully.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 17.10.25

To make sure that this wasn’t just the W I changed the colour of the K from this I realised it just wasn’t working. The worst thing about this design was it would effect the rest of the box because if in future designs the box was going to be red and black then this may not compromise with it and be a constraint in the future therefore is a bad design as it won’t work amazing now its not going to work successfully in other designs therefore waste money and design time having to come up with a new KW logo.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 17.45.43

As this design just wasn’t working I decided to create a signature of KW for he box as obviously I wouldn’t be able to use Kanye’s actual signature because if he seen it he might not appreciate that. This is a page I did on illustrator of me creating a signature which I think could be Kanye Wests I attempted this multiple times and ended up with a K I liked which you can see in the grey area.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 17.15.22

I think the K went quite well as I think this is messy however tidy and easy to tell that the letter is K no matter how big or small this will be placed on.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 17.15.15

To further develop I copied the K by using alt and the selection tool I then moved forward into making the W I did this a few times until I felt like it fitted well and looked right and fit in perfectly with the K

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 17.26.26

From doing this I created a scribble as this is how most people end their signature I kept it quite neat in terms of not going over the writing and I actually could image Kanye to sign something like this. I then made a few changes such as taking areas out and making them slightly thicker so it was almost as if a real pen was used to create this signature and no changes where made.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 17.55.15.png

This is the final Kanye West signature I have created which I am going to use on my packaging design I am happy with this outcome as compared to my YEEZY sign it’s the messy part of my box which is good as it shows a uniqueness and creativity about it.

Reflecting back on this I have learnt how to do a signature in Illustrator using a wacom tablet which helped me produce an effective, professional outcome. As well as this I have also learnt how important it is to show who made it and have that stamp to say ‘its mine’ Within the packaging.

I have currently saved this in illustrator which I will then turn into a vector and transfer into Photoshop or work with it further in Illustrator depending on the type of background I will create. Up to now I am most likely going to do a patterned background however keep the pattern as minimal as possible almost as if it’s the texture of the box and not an actual pattern which has been created for the box.

 

Leave a Reply

