Photoshop & Moving to After Effects

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 09.02.36

Today I have been working on finishing off my second part of my moving image. I have created the stop motion in Photoshop by doing file > Image Sequence and then right clicking my timeline making layers into frames This then allowed me to play all the layers one after another. Along with this I could also set the time for all of my moving image I have set the timing at 0.2 for a rough effect yet it doesn’t play too slow. The first screenshot shows me rendering my file. I changed the settings to quicktime and animation high quality.

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 09.16.38

Once rendering this my file then saved as a .mov as it didn’t need editing it After effects further this was the best way for me to create my stop motion as I can still cut away parts and add in pieces to make my stop motion a minute long however it doesn’t have all the layers which after effects have and still effectively gives me the outcome I want.

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 09.54.56

As my moving image was getting to the point of nearly finished. I decided the best thing to do would be to move into After Effects because although its not complete pieces can be added once there done along with being able to double check everything is the right size, correct length so I didn’t have to get to placing it all in After Effects and it being just under a minute. (Not meeting the brief requirements.)

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 10.04.31

At first I did file > New Project and then I opened my file which gave me this option.

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 10.04.51

I changed this to merge layer styles into footage as I didn’t need to edit I just wanted to place my footage into after effects.

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 10.27.42

This is my composition settings as you can see from the screenshot the width and height is 1920×1080 this is the correct size to upload to youtube along with this you can see the duration of my video is 19.24 seconds this isn’t the correct time for the full clip as I would like to include some of my next clip so in order to be able to add into my timeline I need to extend this. I’m going to extend it to 30 seconds as I don’t think this is too big or too small to work with for now and it won’t take up a lot of memory which isn’t what I want at this stage.

 

Leave a Reply

