Boost 350 | Experiments

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 11.40.19

As I have created my Yeezy and KW logo I decided to begin looking at fonts for boost 350.

I have chosen fonts similar or the same as the ones I have previously used such as Futura bold and Helvetica. The reason I have did this is because both are my fonts are quite strong especially the Yeezy logo because of this I don’t and shouldn’t used any font that’s complicated as it’ll completely ruin the design. As well as this the font needs to be legible as people want to know what the shoe is on the packaging. Although its Kanye West and many people know who he is not everyone will know what the shoes are called and without this label the packaging could be for any shoe.

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 11.41.02

Helvetica does work with the YEEZY logo as its simple and legible however I think that its too thin and looks slightly unprofessional compared to the logo as it doesn’t completely fit because the logo is so bold.

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 16.54.02.png

I then chose Futura bold this font to me looks too bold for the logo and almost overshadows it as well as also making me think of Nike when I look at it which isn’t what I want as the brand is Adidas. Also if fitting this with advertising purposes if I was to use this font Nike may have a copyright over it which wouldn’t be good for Adidas and would also look as if they where taking the easy way out by choosing a bold font which they know is already popular therefore must be legible.

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 16.54.39

I also chose a font which I have never worked with before. This was Microsoft Sans Serif I wanted to know how this would work within the logo as this is similar to helvetica however just like Helvetica looks too thin and when moved anywhere but right aligned doesn’t fit well.

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 11.41.22

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 11.41.44

The last font is Impact this works effectively because its clear, bold, legible and simple. When placing this as well it also looks good left aligned and right aligned. Comparing this to Futura bold this looks thinner on the eye and doesn’t overshadow the logo in anyway it fits well and can work in other ways than left aligned so if coming to doing my packaging and right aligned for some reason doesn’t work the way I picture it in my head I can change it and it won’t be a problem.

I have now decided to use Impact as my final boost 350 font as it fits well with my logo and also will be legible on the box . If I do a poster as my advertisement I will use Impact further to promote the product as it will be the right thing to do rather than using a different font which makes no sense to Yeezy at all.

 

One thought on “Boost 350 | Experiments”

Leave a Reply

