Survey Responses

I decided to conduct a survey I posted this onto social media so I could receive mixed answers. The survey was based on 7 questions relating to my brief.

The first question was What do you think when you hear the word Rebellion?

The answers varied from rebelling against something,Not conforming to society/society’s norms, Rock n roll, Protests, Breaking the rules, Riots and War, spray paints. These where the range of answers I got from these I can highlight no one sees rebellion as a positive thing which is something I can take into consideration with my project and try to turn that around.

The next question was How does Rebellion link to creativity? I asked this question as even I’m not sure of the answer and as I was posting this survey online not only my class mates can do it but anyone can and this means I can have an insight into peoples answers who aren’t designers.

I received mixed answers from this listing them all the answers I received are:

No rules or bring able to break rules no boundaries

Rebelling against yourself

Expression of rebellion in unique, interesting way

By being creative you go against the social ‘norm’

Allows someone to express their opinion

Rebels are people who are passionate

Kanye breaks boundaries

Allows us to express freedom which leads to ultimate creativity

Rebelling is creative because it’s doing something differently

People often feel that the best way to express their feelings is through creative means

There own ideas

it relates to creativity because you can rebel against anything

Unsure

Art might be seen as if it has rules “you have to stay in line when you colour in” or “the portrait drawing has to be perfect” but if you rebel against that you might come up with something far more creative. Why does the duck have to be yellow? Colour the damn duck pink and set a new trend. The pink duck might become the symbol for a company or even a fashion trend. Id wear a tshirt with a pink duck.

From these answers I can say personally my favourite answer is the last one its the most detailed and by far the most crazy but I agree with it in every way rebellion and creativity is about exceeding boundaries to get something positive out of it no matter how crazy the idea is.

As for the other answers such as Kanye breaks boundaries YES HE DOES! he doesn’t just work in the music industry he also does fashion which to some people is crazy and he knows that and thats why he does it all the more. The reason I think Kanye is a perfect example is because he doesn’t confine to anything he does what he wants but its not bad most people think Kanye knows nothing and hes just some rapper but hes the complete opposite hes smart and he does put messages in his songs if you listen to them there not just stupid rap songs theres a reason hes popular for example

This is a video of all falls down done Kanye but however he speaks it so its poetry if you listen to it in this version rather than with a backing track behind it you see how much wisdom he speaks for example ‘We buy our way out of jail but we cant buy freedom.’  He speaks a lot of sense but because he’s speaking the truth and he is straight forward about it people ignore it and I think especially the older generation don’t like that he is honest were as the younger generation are more open to discussion with things.

I also got the answer Rebels are people who are passionate as an answer this is true as thinking of rebellion in  a positive light and relating it to answers in the first question such as riots and wars if people didn’t believe something wasn’t right these things wouldn’t happen. Protests happen a lot over different things mostly political or things which are effecting the world black lives matter is something which is increasingly becoming more known as especially in America police seem to be focusing on people of colour as a target and that there bad the death of Sandra bland was the most talked about however there has been more and still is more people protested as people shouldn’t be scared of walking down the street police are for protection and without reasoning arresting anyone is wrong. Protests like this happen so that the next generation don’t have to live their life worried because their skin colour puts them at risk. People protest because its wrong and it shouldn’t happen but it does and the only way to stop this is to make a stand which is what a protest does.

The next question I asked was who rebels in the music industry? My feedback from this was quite varied the answers I received was

Taylor Swift because she doesn’t sell and her albums on iTunes nor does she have them available on Spotify 

The sex pistoles. Nirvana

Sia

Artists who use music as way of communicating political views; artists who break away from labels/reject labels due to creative disagreements

Kanye

David Bowie

Liam Gallagher the legend

I believe a lot of unknown artists rebel in music they remix a popular song or do their own version of a pop song. I swear ive heared about 3 versions of “Fast Car” in the past month and they were all good in their own ways. Music and art are so broard thst its incredibly hard to specify something and put it into an answer. Sorry if doesnt help.
Miley Cyrus as she breaks boundaries and is often seen as controversial in terms of music

rihanna

lady gaga

Any rappers

I would prefer to go into detail in a separate blog post about this part of the survey as its something I need to know for myself and who I’m going to do the answers where quite broad and all rebel to me in different ways such as Liam Gallagher compared to David Bowie is an obvious difference I would say Liam Gallagher is quite negative in terms of the way he used music and rebellion where as David Bowie used it to an advantage. I will also use my sketchbook for any one I think individually can be explained in detail.

The next question was

Do you listen to any particular artist/band who uses rebellion to their advantage? (Please state who)

PUP 

Nirvana the sex pistols AC/DC hole blink 182 foo fighters

Sia

Kendrick Lamar, Flatbush Zombies, most modern rap music tbh

Kanye

Beyonce

Oasis

I believe twentyone pilots are quite rebelioius as the members tend to wear red which is typically seen as a rebelious colour but what i find woth twentyone pilots is thtlat they add different styles and instruments in their songs. “Heavydirtysoul” is a rock song with rap in it which then changes to alternative as the rap ends.

The Clash

Rihanna

lana del rey sings about being rebellious a lot and living a dangerous lifestyle

The answers varies as you can see this question doesn’t determine what I am going to do for my final pieces as some of these artists such as Oasis no matter how good they are the way they acted yes rebelled a lot for example they did what they wanted and brought the songs out they wanted. Whereas for example Sia wasn’t always positive she did do drugs however she now hides her face and only allows you to hear her voice this to me related to my brief more as its creative rebellion and she uses art to get messages across.

Miley Cyrus I think is someone in the music industry who has been completely and utterly controversial with her image especially lately but for example the song ‘Wrecking ball.’ People seem to not be listening to the lyrics and only looking at the fact she’s naked the songs about being heartbroken “Don’t you ever say I just walked away I will always want you.” Did anyone listen to that no because in the music industry nowadays its became more about what someones wearing in a music video to me her video highlights she’s stripped back baring all for everyone to see although okay theres some props in the video which makes me think “Why would you do that’ In a way why not she’s not just going to stand naked and sing. It does make some sense her being on a wrecking ball breaking walls and a lyric in the song is ‘All I wanted was to break your walls’ In my opinion she wanted who she loved to open up and tell her things but he didn’t want to do that and she then started a war(arguing) with him which she didn’t want but he tore them both apart and he ended up becoming a ‘wrecking ball.’ demolishing their relationship for example the last verse says ‘Left me crashing in a blazing fall All you ever did was wreck me
Yeah, you, you wreck me Yeah, you, you wreck me’  Miley Cyrus does rebel positive in all ways I’m unsure about that but she wants to be taken seriously as an artist but she to some people just doesn’t get the message across as even I wouldn’t realise unless I watched the video and took into account some of the lyrics otherwise it is just a bit of an odd video.

I also received Kendrick Lamar as one of the answers in  my opinion I cant see how he rebels okay he swears a lot which people may be shocked by and offended but in terms of music he raps like a lot of other artists it doesn’t have much of a message he isn’t the most influential of rappers to try and get a message across I know that Kendrick has worked with charities and he doesn’t seem to rap about sex and drugs he does rap about things which he was brought up around and what inspired him to rap for example (he swears as I said above but this is typical rebellion for a lot of artists.)

Now I done grew up ’round some people livin’ their life in bottles
Granddaddy had the golden flask, backstroke every day in Chicago
Some people like the way it feels, some people wanna kill their sorrows
Some people wanna fit in with the popular, that was my problem
I was in a dark room, loud tunes, looking to make a vow soon
That I’ma get fucked up, fillin’ up my cup, I see the crowd mood
Changin’ by the minute and the record on repeat
Took a sip then another sip, then somebody said to me

The lyrics tell me he grew up with a lot of people drinking around him and he goes into how some people did it because they liked it but some people hate there life so much there want to drown there sorrows. He also says people want to fit in which seems to be what happens a lot now days people want to fit in and will therefore follow a crowd and in most cases its quite bad because they then dont live a life they could’ve. Kendrick then says he was in a room writing  but then he begins to drink and the song goes on to him drinking more and more however the lyrics go on

Okay, now open your mind up and listen me, Kendrick
I am your conscience, if you do not hear me, then you will be history, Kendrick
I know that you’re nauseous right now
 and I’m hopin’ to lead you to victory, Kendrick

If I take another one down, I’ma drown in some poison, abusin’ my limit

his conscience kicks in although he was led somewhere his mind tells him not to do it that its wrong and most likely stopped him and then he went back to being him writing songs and hes got where he is today because he didnt follow the crowd therefore rebelled against the people around him and did his own thing to get to where he wanted to be.

I decided the next question was going to be if people notice rebellion in the music industry I gave them the choice of Yes, No, Somewhat and unsure

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 16.24.20.png

Yes won it had 50 percent of the votes which is obviously a little bit of an answer I cant say for definite defines if people think yes rebellion is a strong message in the music industry and as some where unsure this may be a question I need to research further into or ask someone else to do my quiz and their answers will mean if rebellion is strong or not unless they click no or unsure. I could definitely try again with putting this quiz on social media just so I can analyse this question and see the results however if I put my own meaning to rebellion in the music industry I would say yes so if using my answer included in this quiz then Yes wins and I can just further develop.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 16.29.12

I wanted to know when rebellion was most popular in music I chose era’s to go by for me if I was going to answer I would say 80’s however now in the present its happening. The 80’s and present won the vote I think this is because in my mind if I picture rebellion in the 80’s I imagine people such as Madonna, Michael Jackson, David Bowie, Freddie Mercury. To me all of these represent the start of rebellion in someway or another where as if I think of present artists who rebel Kanye West, Sia, Beyonce, Taylor Swift, Miley Cyrus.

I then for my last question asked: Are there any recent events which highlight rebellion?

From my feedback I received answers mostly which didnt relate to music but this all goes to show how rebellion works.

Terrorism

London riots

Black lives matter movement in America – lots of support in music industry

Junior doctor strikes

Events in ukraine/ iceland against goverment

Junior doctors

I feel like the strongest form of rebellion in recent years was gay pride which showed strength in what seemed to be the minority of the community and caused many countries and states to change their law about gay marriage.

Kesha speaking out about her contract

The two which stand out most to me and relate to my brief would be Kesha speaking out about her contract as well as Black lives matter.

Speaking separately about both of these issues both are known however I do think not known enough.

Black Lives Matter is a movement which campaigns for violence to stop against black people. A big example which made international news was Sandra Bland who had been arrested because of a minor traffic violation however was found hanged in her jail cell but there was a lot of controversy about it as people think she suffered from police brutality which led to people questioning if she was even alive or not in her mugshot photo. I believe that she didnt commit suicide and this was caused by police brutality but there is no evidence to prove that and this is why campaigns like Black Lives Matter exist because there shouldn’t be a question of did this happen or not it shouldn’t be happening is the final thing to say on it. The campaign has lately become well known and to help run it they sell merchandise and do events which you can find on their website  events make the campaign more known as well as educating people further with what they do.

Black lives matter relates to music especially as they’ve had support from artists such as Beyonce, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube,

Beyonce’s songs formation and Superpower are both about Black Lives Matter. The two songs are very different and I imagine formation to get played on radio stations more than Superpower as its more catchy but the message is getting across formation is another word for shaping, establishing, evolution. Formation to me comes across about Beyonce knowing who she is and using her status to empower others to listen to the message especially women but Beyonce is known for women empowerment but the message is catchy and will make people think “Okay ladies now lets get in formation” Lets change things is what Beyonce is saying.

Superpower is more soft beat wise but the message is still as strong because she’s saying nothing can break us down and at the end of the video their faced with police however they just stand in front and she holds hands while facing police. Throughout the entire video she looks strong this lyric especially stands out to me ‘The laws of the world never stopped us onceCause together we got plenty super power.’ It’s all about moving forward and changing things which are going on in the world right now but doing it together no matter who you are or what you do and the video shows that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

