Drawing 2 | Experimental

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 10.02.49

I originally drew my second David Bowie drawing traditionally and then took it digital from doing the first drawing digitally I realised that being precise isn’t my favourite thing to do although it was quite rewarding at the end because of this I decided that although the theme of my project is rebellion and I completely rebelled in the first drawing as I drew digitally and stuck to being exact with the drawing my second drawing fits with rebellion however is fitted more to my personal way of working. I had the concept of Labyrinth having multi coloured hair I went with this idea and starting to do this on Photoshop using the hair brush I began with a light colour yellow and then a dark which was black and after this a red. I did this because black is the most harsh colour yet yellow is a bright bold colour were as red is a mix of harsh and bright I created layers for each of the colours and set the sizing of my brush to 30.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 10.02.43

I began to add further colours in within separate layers this makes it easier to get rid of any mistakes and also if I didnt like a colour in the end delete the layer.I was unto now making progress with my work and it was going the way I wanted it to.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 10.20.36

I added the colours, Red, Yellow, Blue, Pink, Purple, Green, Black and Cyan. Each colour was placed into a layer of its own I carried on doing the hair and this is the last screenshot I did as I knew it wasn’t complete yet however I wanted to o begin other parts of the drawing to see what it looked like and I could make changes at the end.

Screen Shot 2016-05-10 at 11.15.21

I wanted to create a face which was purple and looked as if it was watercolour I downloaded brushes off the internet which where water colours for Photoshop however after experimenting with some and trying to create the outcome I wanted it wasn’t working as effectively as I thought this  would. I wanted some areas to be plain white and some to be darker however I didn’t know how to do this and make it work with this happening I looked at my work traditionally again. I began to use different colours and covered the whole face in triangles I scanned this in and opened up into Photoshop however when zooming in you could see where the felts had bled and it wasn’t the clean cut outcome which I wanted.

Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 11.48.32

I decided that I did like this so I started to use the polygon lasso tool to fill in triangles I created many different layers so that they wasn’t all as one this made it easier especially if their was mistakes to come back and fix this later on. The purpose of doing this was so I had an outcome which was very different but also something I think shows the way I have worked before although its never been digital it has been colourful and this was a hint of previous work showing through. I want to make sure that I don’t just have pieces which don’t look too different from each other I want to show how I can be diverse and work differently to produce effective outcomes.

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 18.52.44

Throughout doing this I haven’t had massive constraints the only constraint I had was at first doing the triangles traditionally which although looked good on paper when scanned into Photoshop and zoomed in I could see where colours had slightly ran and I didn’t like this I wanted this outcome to be clean cut however more quirky than my first.

Screen Shot 2016-05-15 at 22.16.52

At this point being critical of my work what I have done up to now is good but its not fully complete the hair needs to be longer as when looking back over my reference picture Labyrinth’s hair leads to the bottom of the page and I have up to now created a bob therefore this needs to be improved. This is where using different hair layers is most effective as I can go back in and erase and add into them without any problems.

I have also added the eyes into the picture I did this because the face now had triangles all over it and without the eyes the face wasn’t yet complete I completed the eyes by getting my reference picture of Labyrinth and using the eye drop tool to see what his eye colour was I then used a hard brush tool to fill his eyes in at first I thought that this looked quite odd because he’s looking to the side and that means the eye is going to look that way too. I took into consideration that the drawing wasn’t yet complete therefore small things can make a big different.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 10.20.49

The next part for me to do was to fill in the shirt this I found really tricky to do I knew the hair was going to be longer therefore it would be covered however it still had to be effective I colour picked from my reference Labyrinth picture and it was a light brown using a hard brush I was able to fill this in. Being critical of this its not perfect and if the hair wasn’t longer then I wouldn’t say it was finished yet because this doesn’t look right and it doesn’t fit with the rest of the face at all.

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 11.40.56

I started to make the hair longer even though I didn’t think that the top was perfect because I didn’t want to go too into detail with it that I wasted time and half the detail you couldn’t see so doing the hair helped to cover the shirt more however I was able to go back and create a new layer and then select a colour slightly darker than what I had used to fill in the shirt using this colour allowed me to create shadows over the shirt. I now think that from doing this its improved my final overall piece.

Overall, I think that this is a successful piece to be critical of my work I do think that I could have been more accurate within the T-shirt area however I don’t see this as a massive problem within my drawing I would change this if I showed more of it. I also think I can justify this because with this being used for GIFS I want to change the colour of the face and the hair the audience who come to see the show won’t look into detail at my drawing they’ll be looking at the colour changing on the screen and the work which is then placed around my images.

This is my final piece I’m not going to use it for a large scale print however this is going to be what I will use for my IMAC I want to create GIF’s. I want to use Hue/Saturation in order to change the colours of certain areas which I will create multiple GIFS and then follow into After Effects where I will place them all together.

The video above is a link to a screen recording I did about how I made the triangles however I’m not sure why its 7 minutes it only lasts around a minute however through the video this gives you an insight to how I created the triangles and filled them in.

Leave a Reply

