Drawing three | Bowie

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 09.15.34Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 09.33.54

I decided for my third drawing that I was going to draw completely digitally however I knew I had to use a reference otherwise the drawing most likely wouldn’t work out. I started off using a black outline in a new layer so it was separate from the picture. I did this to keep everything simple and my first intentional plans was to take this out of Photoshop and use mixed media like the artist Phillip Dennis. I wanted to do this because I hadn’t yet used mixed media and I wanted to try Phillip Dennis’ way of working.

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 09.48.25

To give me a better example of darker areas I changed the image to black and white However I mixed between changing this back to normal colours  and keeping it black and white. This made it better for me to work as some areas where harder to see than others especially the left side as it naturally had a shadow anyway therefore I couldn’t see creases and wrinkles.

I used the hair brush to add in the hair I did this by taking sweeps where the hair already was however went over it I did this a few times and colour picked it until I thought it looked good and I could develop onto the background.

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 11.40.30

This is a screenshot of the image once I began adding the background. Most of this was fully solid black therefore I was able to make my brush bigger and fill in quicker.

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 16.15.21

Once this was done I was beginning to really like the outcome as it was and I didn’t want to add any mixed media to it. In my head I realised that if I had been fully digital up to now and I like the outcome this much there is no point of going traditional with this piece and stick to my brief and completely rebel so I have an outcome done digitally.

I began adding shadows in i did this by changing the opacity on my brush tool to 40% however I then used the eraser tool at 20% opacity to smooth over the shadow I had created so you couldn’t see where a new line began along with this I felt more confident having the shadow as I knew that if I erased over it the outcome was definitely going to be smooth.

Screen Shot 2016-05-17 at 16.26.15

I then finalised some of the details and made sure that everything was correct.

Overall, This is the outcome which has surprised me the most as I like it the best compared to my other outcomes this is quite surprising as normally I prefer outcomes which have more colour in them but this is a different way of working for me as I never do digital pieces which means I may like to work digitally using only black and white whereas when working traditionally I like outcomes which have a lot of colour or use mixed media within the outcome.

I also think that even though this drawing was done completely digital I preferred working this way it seemed easier and I worked at ease more even though I didn’t add colour to it and I’m certain if I did I would find drawing completely different as this was quite simple nonetheless I found this my favourite way of drawing digitally up to now therefore I would like to do it again in the future.

Leave a Reply

