Making Gifs

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 09.15.03

I wanted to produce a series of gifs with my colourful Bowie drawing in order to have my piece of moving image ready to show on my IMAC for exhibition. I did this by using the Hue/Saturation tool and I put the adjust layer effect all layers below on. In order for just the hair to change colour or just the face I had to merge the layers together however once I had completed screen recording I would undo this so that the layers where all separate again even though I wasn’t going to go back and edit them it was just to be cautious.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 09.15.11

Once I completed all of my screen recordings then I used Photoshop to make the gifs I did this by doing file > Import > Video Frames to layers Once this was imported I had to turn my timeline on this was done by Window > Timeline

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 09.17.32

This then allowed me to see the timing and I could select every layer and change the timing I changed them to different times as it depended how quick I moved the Hue/Saturation bar. I did this for every single gif that I created and finalised them all by rendering them out which then allowed me go into After Effects and begin joining them together.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 09.18.44

This is how I exported every gif this was a crucial part of my work as I had to do it otherwise I wasn’t able to go into After Effects and add my gifs. This is because when rendering it saves for quicktime so in reality my gif isn’t a gif its a movie if I wanted a gif I’d save the file differently.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 09.46.09

I opened up after effects the first thing I did was import my videos however upon realisation my screen size wasn’t correct this meant I had to go into my composition settings and change them.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 10.15.39

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 11.25.57I

changed my composition size to 1920×1080 the reason for this is so it exports for Youtube in 1080p. As my file won’t fit perfectly onto the full screen and it wouldn’t if I tried I am going to place my gifs in the middle of the screen and use the shape tool to create two blocks side to side so that my screen is perfectly centred. I also didn’t want the screen to be black as the remaining area of my image which isn’t filled in is white therefore its more clean cut to have a clean white cut at the end

I added all of my videos in by opening them up in finder and dragging them into the box in the left corner.When I did this i was then able to put them into the layers section this then allowed me to move and place them so they played one after another but smoothly so that it fit as one. This was all I did for my moving image however at one point in the moving image the whole screen is filled with David Bowie. To do this I had to move them to the side of the middle picture I had to place them so that they went over the edge but this was fine and still the whole gif was near enough on the page.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 11.43.33Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 11.43.36Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 11.47.54.png

I now needed to render my video therefore I had to change the settings I made sure the quality was set to best and the resolution to full this meant that there will be no pixilation within my video and when uploaded to Youtube it will be set at 1080p. I then had to change the lossless settings to make sure my video was set up for Youtube I went into format options and changed the code to H.264 I then lowered the quality down to 80 and limited the data rate to 20400. This means that my file now won’t be as big as it would’ve been by changes these settings I saved these and then rendered my video which didn’t take long because my moving image only lasts around 35 seconds however on exhibition night it will get played on repeat. I then uploaded it to youtube which gave me my first try through this video I was able to notice mistakes therefore I had areas for improvement

This is the first try of the video from what I noticed in the video theres a mistake around 6 seconds as the image doesn’t fully with onto the screen therefore I will go back into After Effects to ensure that this is changed to fit the full screen. The next mistake I made was the last transition changed and looked slightly smaller than the others along with this the video wasn’t running as smoothly as I planned when the gifs change therefore I needed this to improve.

This is my second try of editing Bowie I still noticed a change within one of the images that it was slightly moved compared to the gif before therefore I took this into consideration to make sure that it worked the next time I did it because of this happening the gif after didn’t look right I took into consideration that this may be the gif before making it seem although its a mistake but I made sure to double check it when correcting any mistakes again. The last mistake I made was at 20 seconds you could see a black line within the middle bowie image which I didn’t want there as well as as the gifs end the screen goes back to black because of this I had to add another shape tool which I could place back on after the three gifs had changed so that I still had a white screen for the image isolated on its own in the middle.

My third try was the one that worked successfully this was then my moving image working perfectly therefore my moving image was now complete and uploaded to Youtube therefore the only thing I now have to do is place it onto another pen drive for exhibition.

Leave a Reply

